Royal Irish Academy, 19 Dawson Street
The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann is Ireland’s leading body of experts in the Sciences and Humanities.
It supports scholarship and promotes awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives. Since the 1850’s the Academy has been housed in Academy House on Dawson Street. The concert takes place in The Meeting Room, which was designed by Frederick Villiers Clarendon as a library, and modelled on the Great Hall at Euston Station.
It is located at 19 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, and can be reached by DART (Pearse Station), by bus to (St Stephens Green or Nassau Street) or by Luas (Dawson Street).
The original castle at Rathfarnham dates back to the Elizabethan period and was built for Archbishop Adam Loftus, an ambitious Yorkshire clergyman who later became Lord Chancellor of Ireland. In the late eighteenth century, the house was remodelled on a splendid scale employing some of the finest architects of the day including Sir William Chambers and James ‘Athenian’ Stuart. The collection includes family portraits by Angelica Kauffman, Sir Peter Lely and Hugh Douglas Hamilton.
Rathfarnham Castle is managed and operated by the Office
of Public Works. Car parking facilities available. Buses 16,17, 75 to Rathfarnham.
Killruddery House and Gardens
Killruddery House is one of the most successful EIizabethan-Revival mansions in Ireland. The concert takes place in the Orangery, which was designed and built by William Burn in 1852 after the fashion of the Crystal Palace in England.
Killruddery House and Gardens is situated just beyond Bray. Take the N11 then take Exit 7, the Bray/Greystones exit and follow signs to Greystones. Killruddery is on the right near the end of the Southern Cross Road leading from the N11 to the Greystones Road. DART to Bray and from you can get the Fingegans Bus, the 184 or 84 to Lord Meath’s Gate. Walk up the hill and turn right the gates are 300 metres from there, on the left hand side of the road.
National Botanic Gardens
Located just 3 km from Dublin City Centre, the National Botanic Gardens are an oasis of calm and beauty. A premier scientific institution, the Gardens also contain the National Herbarium and several historic wrought iron glasshouses.
From the south, or city centre: leave Dublin via the Drumcondra road (N1) and turn left at Botanic Avenue (Fagan’s pub), just before crossing the river Tolka.
At end of Botanic Avenue turn left at T-junction. Alternatively, leave the city via Phibsborough, on the Finglas road (N2). Just after passing over the Royal Canal, follow the one-way system around Hart’s corner, turning right, then left onto Botanic Road. At the bottom of the hill turn left at the traffic lights. The Botanic Gardens are 100m past this junction and on the left. Car parking facilities are available.
Bus Routes: 4, 9 and 83. Nearest stop to the National Botanic Gardens is Botanic Road, Botanic Gardens
Dublin Docklands Office
Waterways Ireland Dublin Docklands Office is affectionately known as the ‘the Box on the Docks’ due to its unique appearance. The building is acclaimed for its architectural merit, is built on water and accessed by way of a footbridge from the quay wall. Built in 1993, it was designed and built to represent a nautical theme – the round windows, the open aspect of the guardrails and the wooden decking of the walkway suggest this theme. The floor level windows give the impression that the building is moving through water when the water is viewed through them.
DART to Grand Canal Station or large variety of buses.
The Chapel Royal at Dublin Castle
The Chapel Royal at Dublin Castle is a stunning example of 19th Century Gothic Revival Architecture. It became known as the Chapel Royal after King George IV attended service on 2 September 1821. Located in the Lower Castle Yard, its galleries and stained glass windows are ornamented with coats of arms representing many of Ireland’s Viceroys. Dublin Castle is located at the very heart of Dublin, within easy walking distance of many top tourist attractions.
Buses stopping on nearby George’s Street: 9, 14, 15, 15A, 15B, 16, 65, 68, 83, 122, 140.
Buses stopping on nearby Dame Street: 13, 27, 40, 49, 54A, 56A, 77A, 123, 150,
151, 747. Please note that there is no visitor parking available on site. The nearest
public car parks are Q-Park Christchurch Car Park and Park Rite Drury Street.
Airbnb International Hub
Airbnb’s international hub office at Hanover Quay is steeped in great history, and was allegedly home to Ireland’s first fridge! Housed in one of the last remaining warehouse buildings so characteristic of Dublin’s Docklands, the new international hub building faces on to Grand Canal Basin. The Airbnb building has been carefully and faithfully restored and renovated and its three stories are designed around a central atrium amphitheatre for events that is the heart of the building.
It is located at 8 Hanover Quay, Dublin 2. Limited on-street parking is available around Docklands, as well as 5 minutes walk away at Q Park Grand Canal Square.
Castle Hall at Dublin Castle
Castle Hall is located within the 18th Century Bedford Hall Clock Tower building, situated in the Upper Castle Yard. This bright and spacious venue is perfect for an evening of music and entertainment. Dublin Castle is located at the very heart of Dublin, within easy walking distance of many top tourist attractions.
Buses stopping on nearby George’s Street: 9, 14, 15, 15A, 15B, 16, 65, 68, 83, 122, 140. Buses stopping on nearby Dame Street: 13, 27, 40, 49, 54A, 56A, 77A, 123, 150, 151, 747. Please note that there is no visitor parking available on site. The nearest public car parks are Q-Park Christchurch Car Park and Park Rite Drury Street.
The Pillar Room, Rotunda Hospital
The Pillar Room offers a unique experience in the centre of Dublin, located as it is in the grounds of the Rotunda Hospital and adjacent to the Gate Theatre. Originally built in 1785 and designed by Frederick Trench, the Pillar Room has a classical appearance with magnificent pillars running along the length of the ballroom. There is a raised
balcony at one end and the highly ornate, 20ft high ceiling is illuminated by three central chandeliers. It was restored in 1986 to its eighteenth century splendour.
Car parking facilities available on site.
Wide selection of bus routes go to O’Connell Street. Nearby LUAS stops.
Pedestrian access to and from the venue is via the Blue Gate at Parnell Square East Entrance.